Apocalypse Now | Affenfaust Galerie

31.10.2020 - 31.01.2021

Groupshow

Apocalypse Now

1st of January 2020, 00:38 am - A sky lantern with good wishes ignites a fire in the monkey house of the Zoo in Krefeld. More than 30 animals are dying in the flames, including great apes, birds and flying foxes. At this moment we don't have the smallest clue what the 366 days of 2020 have in store for us.

We don't know that 1.25 billion animals are killed by the wildfires in Australia. We don't know that politicians shake hands with fascists in the Thuringian State Parliament. We don't know about a right-wing extremist attack in Hanau. We don't know what dimension inhumanity is taking on at the European borders. We don't know that a worldwide pandemic is not alone stealing our breath; "I can't breathe". We don't know that in Hong Kong totalitarianism - despite millions of protests - is triumphing over democracy. We don't know how massively right networks are entangled with the Bundeswehr and police, hoard war weapons and are ignored, tolerated or supported by official leaders.

What we do know is that the direct effects of climate changes affect all life on earth - our existence, health and nutrition. The world is on fire and we celebrate life with the final exhibition before the Apocalypse. - We are cleaning everything up - keep in mind the Christmas presents. YOLO & Winkiesmiley.

Apocalypse Now - a non-thematic group exhibition. Hope dies last!
(Text: Helene Osbahr, written in July 2020 - who knows what will come...)
Opening

31.10.2020, 14:00

Save iCal in calender
Runtime

31.10.2020 - 31.01.2021

Openings hours

Mittwoch - Sonntag, 14-18 Uhr

Location

Affenfaust Galerie

Share

Line Up

Available Artworks

Language Switch
DE | EN

Apocalypse Now | Affenfaust Galerie

31.10.2020 - 31.01.2021

Groupshow

Apocalypse Now

1.Januar 2020, 00:38 Uhr – Eine Himmelslaterne mit guten Wünschen entfacht einen Brand im Affenhaus des Krefelder Zoos. Mehr als 30 Tiere sterben in den Flammen, darunter Menschenaffen, Vögel und Flughunde. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt haben wir nicht den leisesten Schimmer, was die 366 Tage von 2020 für uns bereithalten. 

Wir wissen nicht, dass den Bränden in Australien 1,25 Milliarden Tiere zum Opfer fallen. Wir wissen nicht, dass Faschisten im Thüringer Landtag die Hand gereicht wird. Wir wissen nichts von einem rechtsextremistischen Anschlag in Hanau. Wir wissen nicht, welche Dimension die Unmenschlichkeit vor den Grenzen Europas annimmt. Wir wissen nicht, dass uns nicht allein eine weltweite Pandemie den Atem raubt; “I can’t breathe”. Wir wissen nicht, dass in Hongkong der Totalitarismus – trotz Millionen-Proteste – über die Demokratie triumphiert. Wir wissen nicht, wie massiv rechte Netzwerke mit Bundeswehr und Polizei verflochten sind, Kriegswaffen horten und von staatlichen Entscheidungsträgern ignoriert, geduldet oder unterstützt werden.

Was wir wissen ist, dass die direkten Auswirkungen des Klimawandels alles Leben auf der Erde betrifft – unsere Existenz, unsere Gesundheit und unsere Ernährung. Die Welt brennt und wir feiern mit der letzten Ausstellung vor der Apokalypse auf den abfackelnden Trümmern das Leben. – Alles muss raus. Denkt an die Weihnachtsgeschenke. YOLO & Zwinkersmiley.

Apocalypse Now – eine nicht thematische Gruppenausstellung. Die Hoffnung stirbt zuletzt!

(Text: Helene Osbahr, geschrieben im Juli 2020 – wer weiß, was noch kommt…)

Weiterlesen...
Vernissage

31.10.2020, 14:00

Termin im Kalender speichern
Laufzeit

31.10.2020 - 31.01.2021

Öffnungszeiten

Mittwoch - Sonntag, 14-18 Uhr

Location

Affenfaust Galerie

Share

Line Up

Verfügbare Werke

Language Switch
DE | EN