Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie

Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie

11.03.2022 - 09.04.2022

Nico Sawatzki

Filter, schön.

Nico Sawatzki creates abstract pictorial spaces in his paintings, which create a special depth effect through contrasting light moods. While his earlier works mostly show industrial, dynamic spatial constructions, his paintings since 2018 rather suggest natural landscapes: By overlaying a multitude of layers of spray paint and acrylic glazes, the landscapes seem reduced to their essentials and oscillate between compression and dissolution. Sawatzki himself describes his paintings as surfaces of his own memory. He understands the painting process as a kind of negotiation with mental pictorial spaces that can bundle and dissolve, but never come to a standstill. These inner images have neither a definite form nor are they fixed to a specific place. If we engage in a dialogue with Sawatzki's artworks, they can act as filters for specific memories of places, people, smells, or experiences. They might also raise questions such as: What exactly do we actually remember? Can we influence our memories? Or: To what extent does the present determine our view of the past or the past, our view of the present?

With his solo exhibition "Filter, schön" Nico Sawatzki explores the uncertainties and limits of the process of remembering and at the same time refers with his title to the fact that our memories are the product of a filtering process of our individual perception. Through the flood of images in today's media, our gaze is usually confronted with supposedly embellishing photographic filters. In Sawatzki's reduced paintings we ourselves are now asked to set our own filters.

Nico Sawatzki (*1984 in Regensburg) has already been represented in many exhibitions of prominent art institutions. Public purchases, such as those of the "Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen", the "Thomas JC und Angelika Matzen Stiftung", the "Sammlung Bezirk Oberpfalz" as well as purchases for numerous private collections testify to a broad interest in his work.
Runtime

11.03.2022 - 09.04.2022

Location

Paul Roosen Contempoaray

Share

Artworks online

More about

Switch language!

Please select your language / Bitte wähle deine Sprache

close / schließen

Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie

Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie
Filter, Schön. | Affenfaust Galerie

11.03.2022 - 09.04.2022

Nico Sawatzki

Filter, schön.

Nico Sawatzki schafft in seinen Malereien abstrakte Bildräume, die durch kontrastreiche Lichtstimmungen eine besondere Tiefenwirkung erzeugen. Während seine älteren Arbeiten meist industrielle, dynamische Raumkonstruktionen zeigen, lassen seine Malereien seit 2018 vielmehr Naturlandschaften erahnen: Durch die Überlagerung von einer Vielzahl an Ebenen aus Sprühlack und Acryllasuren scheinen die Landschaften auf ihr Wesentliches reduziert und changieren zwischen Verdichtung und Auflösung. Sawatzki selbst beschreibt seine Malereien auch als Oberflächen des eigenen Erinnerns. Dabei versteht er den Malprozess als eine Art Verhandlung mit mentalen Bildräumen, die sich bündeln und verflüchtigen können, aber nie stillstehen. Diese inneren Bilder haben weder eine klare Form noch seien sie an einen spezifischen Ort fixiert. Lassen wir uns auf einen Dialog mit Sawatzkis Arbeiten ein, können sie als Filter für bestimmte Erinnerungen an Orte, Personen, Gerüche oder Erlebnisse fungieren. Auch könnten sie Fragen aufwerfen wie etwa: Was genau erinnern wir eigentlich? Können wir unsere Erinnerungen beeinflussen? Oder: Inwieweit bestimmt die Gegenwart unsere Sicht auf Vergangenes oder Vergangenes, unsere Sicht auf Gegenwärtiges?

Mit seiner Einzelausstellung “Filter, schön” lotet Nico Sawatzki die Unsicherheiten und Grenzen des Erinnerungsprozesses aus und verweist mit dem Titel gleichzeitig darauf, dass unsere Erinnerungen immer auch Produkt eines Filter-Prozesses unserer individuellen Wahrnehmung sind. Durch die Bilderflut heutiger Medien wird unser Blick meist mit vermeintlich verschönernden Fotofiltern konfrontiert. In Sawatzkis reduzierten Malereien sind wir nun selbst gefragt, unsere eigenen Filter zu setzen.

Nico Sawatzki (*1984 in Regensburg) war bereits in vielen Ausstellungen renommierter Kunstinstitutionen vertreten. Öffentliche Ankäufe, wie die der “Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen“, der “Thomas JC und Angelika Matzen Stiftung“, der “Sammlung Bezirk Oberpfalz” sowie Ankäufe für zahlreiche private Sammlungen zeugen von einem breiten Interesse an seinen Arbeiten.

Laufzeit

11.03.2022 - 09.04.2022

Location

Paul Roosen Contempoaray

Share

Artworks online

Mehr über

Switch language!

Please select your language / Bitte wähle deine Sprache

close / schließen